Our Trip to Hawaii!

IMG_8884

I get it now. I totally understand why people love Hawaii so much. Before, I thought of it as a “Sure, maybe someday” type of place on a travel list. No hurry to visit. Well, every year our family takes a big beach trip and in the past, we’ve gone to Destin, FL and Gulf Shores, AL. When my mother-in-law asked if we’d all be interested in going to Hawaii this year, we said, “Um, YES!?” After this trip, I’m daydreaming about us moving to Hawaii someday.

We stayed on Maui, at the Honua Kai Resort along Kaanapali Beach. The grounds there were absolutely gorgeous and I cannot recommend it enough, especially for families. There were SO many babies and small children around, I couldn’t believe it! Did I mention the grounds were absolutely gorgeous? Brace yourselves for lots of photos in these posts…

IMG_9283IMG_8830FullSizeRender (4)IMG_9238

The beach was, probably needless to say, so beautiful. Never seen anything like it. Oh, and the snorkeling! I went just once, but saw some amazing fish out there. We snorkeled right in front of our resort, but should you ever visit Kaanapali Beach, they say the best spot is Black Rock (located in front of the Westin).

It’s hard to explain, but it was so surreal looking down and seeing Adeline playing in the sand. It was one of those moments where I just couldn’t believe she’s mine. I was thinking to myself, I can’t believe I have a baby playing on the beach. If ya know what I mean?

IMG_8858IMG_8859IMG_9309FullSizeRender (5)

We visited Front Street in Lahaina a couple times during our trip. Just a few minutes away from all the resorts on Kaanapali Beach, it’s a cute area with lots of little shops, restaurants and art galleries. Nice place to spend a couple hours and pick up some souvenirs. You can also find the greatest shave ice in the world on Front Street – from Ululani’s! The best way to get it is with ice cream on the bottom. It was truly amazing.

IMG_9308IMG_9307FullSizeRender (7)FullSizeRender (6)

Some of the largest banyan trees in the world are found at the corner of Front and Canal Streets in Lahaina. Oh, and they’re 400 years old! Do you see the glow up at the top? That’s the beauty of Hawaii.

We found this handmade dress in one of the little shops on Front Street and Adeline wore it the next morning. How sweet is it? Thank you, Grandma!

IMG_9239FullSizeRender (3)IMG_9241

One morning when Adeline (and Steve, ha) went down for a nap, I went out to the beach by myself for a bit. It was peaceful, calm…and I didn’t really know what to do with myself! I enjoyed it so much, though. Sitting there and taking in the incredible views was something else. Like I said before, I get it now. There is this sense of calmness in Hawaii, like you can literally feel something different in the air.

IMG_9193FullSizeRender (9)IMG_8979IMG_9243

I’m looking forward to sharing more photos from our time in Hawaii over the next week or so! We had an incredible time and feel so fortunate to take in these experiences as a family. We’re so grateful to Steve’s parents for such an amazing vacation!

 

 

 

Our Trip to Hawaii!

Leave a Reply

